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This brief overview describes state laws that concern the tethering or

chaining of dogs. It also includes a table of those state laws dealing with

tethering with links to the text of the laws.
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“In which states is it illegal to chain or tether your dog?”
 

 

Tethering or chaining a dog under most state laws means that a person ties a dog with a rope or line to

a stationary object. While the laws themselves vary from state to state, they do have several

consistent features. Some laws that address tethering allow a dog to be tethered for a reasonable

period of time. California prohibits tethering a dog to a stationary object, but allows a dog to be

tethered “ no longer than is necessary for the person to complete a temporary task that requires the

dog to be restrained for a reasonable period.” Connecticut makes it illegal for a dog to be con�ned or

tethered for an unreasonable period of time. What constitutes an “unreasonable period” is not de�ned

by statute in Connecticut. However, Texas law states that a reasonable period is one that does not

exceed three hours in a 24-hour period, and is “no longer than is necessary for the owner to complete

a temporary task that requires the dog to be restrained.”

 

Other states include tethering as part of their anti-cruelty chapters. Indiana de�nes “neglect” as

restraining an animal for more than a brief period in a manner that endangers the animal's life or

health by the use of a rope, chain, or tether. West Virginia and the District of Columbia include “cruelly

chains” in its list of activities that constitute misdemeanor animal cruelty.

 

https://www.animallaw.info/
http://www.addthis.com/bookmark.php?v=250&pub=xa-4b0305e12c8becd1
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State Citation
and Link Summary of Law Penalty

Alabama      

Alaska      

Arizona      

Arkansas      

California West’s Ann.

Cal. Health

& Safety

Code §

122335

No person shall tether, fasten, chain, tie, or

restrain a dog to any dog house, tree, fence,

or other stationary object.

A person may temporarily tether a dog “no

longer than is necessary for the person to

complete a temporary task.”

Infraction or misdemeanor

 

Animal control may issue a warning

to a person who violates this

chapter, requiring the owner to

correct the violation, in lieu of an

infraction or misdemeanor, unless

the violation endangers the health

or safety of the animal, or the

animal has been wounded as a

result of the activity.

Colorado      

Connecticut C.G.S.A. §§

22-350a

No person shall tether a dog to a stationary

object or to a mobile device, including, but

not limited to, a trolley or pulley by means

of: 

Fine of no more than $100 for 1

offense

 

$100-250 for 2  offense

 

$250-500 for any subsequent

offenses

Some states specify the manner as to how a dog must be tethered or chained. For example, Delaware

law provides that a tether shall be 6 feet or at least 3 times the length of the dog as measured from the

tip of its nose to the base of its tail. Likewise, Indiana and Michigan also require that the tether be

three times the length of the dog. Many states require that the tether allow the dog unencumbered

access to food, water, and shelter. States that do allow some form of tethering usually require that the

tethering must be done in a manner that does not endanger the dog’s welfare.

 

The table below provides a summary of each state law that addresses tethering. A link is provided in

the citation that goes to the actual text of the law.

st

nd

https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stuscaca_hlth_s_122335.htm
https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusctst22_327_367.htm#s350a
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1. A tether that does not allow such dog

to walk at least eight feet, excluding

the length of such dog as measured

from the tip of such dog's nose to the

base of such dog's tail, in any one

direction,

2. a tether that does not have swivels on

both ends to prevent twisting and

tangling, unless a person is in the

presence of such dog,

3. a coat hanger, choke collar, prong-type

collar, head halter or any other collar,

halter or device that is not speci�cally

designed or properly �tted for the

restraint of such dog,

4. a tether that has weights attached or

that contains metal chain links more

than one-quarter of an inch thick, or

5. a tether that allows such dog to reach

an object or hazard, including, but not

limited to, a window sill, edge of a pool,

fence, public road or highway, porch or

terrace railing that poses a risk of

injury or strangulation to such dog if

such dog walks into or jumps over such

object or hazard, unless a person is in

the presence of such dog.

Also prohibits tethering dog outdoors to a

stationery object or to a mobile device (i.e.,

trolley or pulley) when a weather advisory or

warning is issued by authorities, or when

outdoor conditions (extreme heat, cold,

wind, rain, snow or hail) pose an adverse risk

to the health or safety of particular dog

unless tethering is for a duration of not

longer than �fteen minutes.

Delaware 9 Del.C. §

904

Law addresses the design of a tether:

 

 

https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusdest_t9_904.htm
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Outdoor dog houses: tethers shall be

attached so that dog cannot become

entangled with other objects or come

into physical contact with other dogs

Tether shall be 6 feet long or at least 3

times the length of the dog

Must allow the dog convenient access

to dog house and to food and water

D.C. DC Code §

22.1001

"Cruelly chains" means attaching an animal

to a stationary object or a pulley by means of

a chain, rope, tether, leash, cable, or similar

restraint under circumstances that may

endanger its health, safety, or well-being.

 

Cruelly chains includes a tether that:

 

Causes the animal to choke

Does not permit the animal to reach

food, water, shade, dry ground 

Does not permit the animal to escape

harm

Imprisonment up to 180 days

and/or �ne up to $250

Florida      

Georgia      

Hawaii HRS § 711-

1109

A person commits the offense of cruelty to

animals in the second degree if the person

intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly

tethers, fastens, ties, or restrains a dog to a

doghouse, tree, fence, or any other

stationary object by means of a choke collar,

pinch collar, or prong collar.

Misdemeanor offense results in

forfeiture of animal and

reimbursement for costs incurred

for care of animal

Idaho      

https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusdcst22_1001.htm
https://www.animallaw.info/statute/hi-cruelty-hawaii-cruelty-animals-provisions-chapter-711#s1109
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Illinois  510 ILCS

70/3

 

70/3 (b) To lawfully tether a dog outdoors,

an owner must ensure that the dog:

(1) does not suffer from a condition

that is known, by that person, to be

exacerbated by tethering;

(2) is tethered in a manner that will

prevent it from becoming entangled

with other tethered dogs;

(3) is not tethered with a lead that (i)

exceeds one-eighth of the dog's body

weight or (ii) is a tow chain or a log

chain;

(4) is tethered with a lead that

measures, when rounded to the

nearest whole foot, at least 10 feet in

length;

(5) is tethered with a properly �tting

harness or collar other than the lead or

a pinch, prong, or choke-type collar;

and

(6) is not tethered in a manner that will

allow it to reach within the property of

another person, a public walkway, or a

road.

 (e) A person convicted of violating

subsection (b) of this Section is

guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.

Indiana I.C.§ 35-46-

3-.05

"Neglect" means restraining an animal for

more than a brief period in a manner that

endangers the animal's life or health by the

use of a rope, chain, or tether that:

 

is too heavy 

causes the animal to choke 

Not speci�cally listed

https://www.animallaw.info/statute/il-cruelty-generally-consolidated-cruelty-statutes-humane-care-animals-act#sec70_3
https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusinst35_46_3_1_13.htm#s05
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is less than 3x the length of the animal 

seriously endangers the animal's life or

health

Iowa      

Kansas      

Kentucky      

Louisiana LSA-R.S.

14:102.26

It shall be unlawful to tie, tether, or restrain

any animal in a manner that is inhumane,

cruel, or detrimental to its welfare.

Violation: �ne up to $300

Maine 7 M. R. S. A. 

§ 3971

Unlawful to tie, tether or restrain any animal

in a manner that is inhumane or detrimental

to its welfare

Civil violation: forfeiture up to $100

Maryland MD Code,

Criminal

Law,§ 10-

623

A person may not leave a dog outside and

unattended by use of a restraint that

unreasonably limits the movement of the

dog;

Or one that uses a collar that:

is made primarily of metal

is not at least as large as the

circumference of the dog's neck plus 1

inch

that restricts the access of the dog to

suitable and suf�cient clean water or

appropriate shelter

in unsafe or unsanitary conditions

that causes injury to the dog

Misdemeanor subject to

imprisonment not exceeding 90

days or a �ne not exceeding $1,000

or both

Massachusetts M.G.L.A.

140 § 174E

No person owning or keeping a dog shall

chain or tether a dog to a stationary object

including, but not limited to, a structure, dog

1st offense: issued a written

warning or punished by a �ne of not

more than $50

https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stuslars14_102_10.htm#s102_26
https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusmest_t7_4011_4018.htm#s3972
https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusmd10_601_622.htm#s623
http://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusmast136A_175.htm#s174E
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house, pole or tree for longer than 24

consecutive hours.

The tether used must not allow the dog to

leave the owner's, guardian's or keeper's

property.

Tether must be designed for dogs (no logging

chains or other lines or devices not designed

for tethering dogs).

No chain or tether shall weigh more than 1/8

of the dog's body weight.

No dog under the age of 6 months shall be

tethered outside for any length of time.

A trolley system or a tether attached to a

pulley in a cable run is allowed provided

listed conditions are met.

No person owning or keeping a dog shall

subject the dog to cruel conditions or

inhumane chaining or the tethering at any

time (i.e., exposure to �lth, taunting or

harassing tethered dog, or subjecting dog to

dangerous conditions like animal attacks).

2nd offense: a �ne of not more than

$100

3rd or subsequent offense: a �ne of

not more than $300, and subject to

impoundment of the dog in a local

shelter at the owner's or guardian's

expense pending compliance with

this section, or loss of ownership of

the dog.

Michigan M.C.L. §

750.50

An owner, possessor, or person having

custody shall not tether a dog unless the

tether is at least 3 times the length of the

dog and is attached to a harness or

nonchoke collar designed for tethering.

1 animal: 93 days imprisonment

and/or $1,000 �ne (misdemeanor)

 

2 or 3 animals or the death of an

animal: 1 year/$2,000 �ne

(misdemeanor)

 

4-10 animals or at least one

previous conviction: 2 years/$2,000

�ne (felony)

 

10 or more animals: 4 years/$5,000

�ne (felony)

https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusmi750_50.htm
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Minnesota      

Mississippi      

Missouri      

Montana      

Nebraska      

Nevada N.R.S.

574.100

A person shall not restrain a dog using a

tether, chain, tie, trolley, or pulley system

that:

is less than 12 ft. in length

fails to allow the dog to move at least

12 ft.

allows the dog to reach a fence or other

object in which it could become

entangled

uses a prong, pinch, or choke collar

for more than 14 hrs. in a 24-hr. period

1st offense: misdemeanor

city or county jail for 2 days to

6 months

perform 48 - 120 hours

community service

�ne: $200-1,000

2nd offense: jail time from 10 days -

6 months with increased �nes and

service.

 

3rd or subsequent offense: felony

New

Hampshire

     

New Jersey      

New Mexico      

New York      

North Carolina  N.C.G.S.A.§

362.3

A person who maliciously restrains a dog

using a chain or wire grossly in excess of the

size necessary to restrain the dog safely

violates this law.

For purposes of this section, "maliciously"

means the person imposed the restraint

 Class 1 misdemeanor

https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusnvst574_010_510.htm#s100
https://www.animallaw.info/statute/nc-cruelty-article-47-cruelty-animals#s362_3
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intentionally and with malice or bad motive.

North Dakota      

Ohio      

Oklahoma      

Oregon ORS

§ 167.343

ORS §

167.325

ORS §

167.330

 

In 2013, the state enacted a new law called

"Unlawful Tethering." 

A person commits the offense of unlawful

tethering if the person tethers a domestic

animal in the person's custody or control:

(a) With a tether that is not a

reasonable length given the size of the

domestic animal and available space

and that allows the domestic animal to

become entangled in a manner that

risks the health or safety of the

domestic animal;

(b) With a collar that pinches or chokes

the domestic animal when pulled;

(c) For more than 10 hours in a 24-hour

period; or

(d) For more than 15 hours in a 24-hour

period if the tether is attached to a

running line, pulley or trolley system.

Note that if the tethering causes physical

injury or death, a person can be charged

with animal neglect in the �rst or second

degree (see next column).

Penalty under Unlawful Tethering

Law:

Unlawful tethering is a Class B

violation.

Penalty under Animal Neglect in the

Second Degree:

Under 167.325, a person commits

the crime of animal neglect in the

second degree if he or she

intentionally, knowingly, recklessly

or with criminal negligence tethers

a domestic animal in the person's

custody or control and the tethering

results in physical injury to the

domestic animal.

Animal neglect in the second degree

is a Class B misdemeanor

Animal neglect in the second degree

is a Class C felony if:

(a) The person committing the

offense has previously been

convicted of two or more

offenses under this section,

ORS 167.330 or the

equivalent laws of another

jurisdiction;

(b) The offense was part of a

criminal episode involving 11

or more animals; or

https://www.animallaw.info/statute/or-cruelty-consolidated-cruelty-statutes#s343
https://www.animallaw.info/statute/or-cruelty-consolidated-cruelty-statutes#s325
https://www.animallaw.info/statute/or-cruelty-consolidated-cruelty-statutes#s330
https://www.animallaw.info/statute/or-cruelty-consolidated-cruelty-statutes#s325
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(c) The person knowingly

commits the offense in the

immediate presence of a minor

child and the person has one or

more previous convictions for

an offense involving domestic

violence.

Penalty under Animal Neglect in the

First Degree:

Under 167.330, a person commits

the crime of animal neglect in the

�rst degree if the person

intentionally, knowingly, recklessly

or with criminal negligence  tethers

a domestic animal in the person's

custody or control and the tethering

results in serious physical injury or

death to the domestic animal.

Animal neglect in the �rst degree is

a Class A misdemeanor.

Animal neglect in the �rst degree is

a Class C felony if:

(a) The person committing the

offense has previously been

convicted of one or more

offenses under this section,

ORS 167.325 or the

equivalent laws of another

jurisdiction;

(b) The offense was part of a

criminal episode involving 10

or more animals; or

(c) The person knowingly

commits the offense in the

immediate presence of a minor

child.
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Pennsylvania      

Rhode Island Gen. Laws,

1956, § 4-

13-42

It is a violation for an owner or keeper to:

1. Keep any dog on a permanent tether

that restricts movement of the

tethered dog to an area less than one

hundred thirteen square feet (113 sq.

ft.), or less than a six foot (6’) radius at

ground level.

2. Tether a dog with a choke-type collar

or prong-type collar.

3. Keep any dog tethered for more than

ten (10) hours during a twenty-four

(24) hour period or keep any dog

con�ned in a pen, cage or other shelter

for more than fourteen (14) hours

during any twenty-four (24) hour

period.

 

Any person in violation of this

section shall be given a warning for

a �rst violation. Second and

subsequent violations of this

subsection can be considered a

violation of § 4-1-2. Each day of

violation shall constitute a separate

offense.

Any person in violation of this

section shall be imprisoned not

exceeding eleven (11) months, or

�ned not less than �fty dollars

($50.00) nor exceeding �ve hundred

dollars ($500), or both. Each day of

violation shall constitute a separate

offense.

South Carolina      

South Dakota      

Tennessee T. C. A. §

39-14-202

Offense to knowingly tie, tether, or restrain

a dog in a manner that results in the dog

suffering bodily injury.

1st offense: Class A misdemeanor

2nd or subsequent conviction: Class

E felony

Texas TX HEALTH

& S §

821.076 -

081

Owner may not leave a dog outside and

unattended by use of a restraint that

unreasonably limits the dog's movement

during certain times of day or during

extreme weather

 

A restraint unreasonably limits a dog's

movement if the restraint is a length shorter

than the greater of 5x the length of the dog

or 10 feet.

 

Class C misdemeanor

Class B misdemeanor if previously

convicted

https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusrist4_13_1_4_19_21.htm#s13_42
https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stustnst39_14_201_212.htm#s202
https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stustx821.htm#s76
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Also if it s in an unsafe condition or causes

injury to the dog.

 

Law does not apply to running line, pulley, or

trolley system if the collar meets

requirements.

Utah      

Vermont 13 V.S.A. §

351

A person commits the crime of cruelty to

animals if he or she ties, tethers, or restrains

an animal, either a pet or livestock, in a

manner that is inhumane or is detrimental to

its welfare

 

Virginia Va. Code

Ann. § §

3.2-6500

Each owner shall provide for companion

animals adequate space.

 

"Adequate space" means a tether that:

is appropriate to the age and size of the

animal

is attached to the animal by a properly

applied collar, halter, or harness

con�gured so as to protect the animal

from injury and prevent the animal or

tether from becoming entangled with

other objects or animals

is at least three times the length of the

animal

Class 4 misdemeanor

Washington      

West Virginia W. Va.

Code, § 61-

18-19

It is unlawful for any person to intentionally,

knowingly or recklessly cruelly chain or

tether an animal

Misdemeanor: �ne of $300 to

$2,000 or jail up to six months

Wisconsin      

Wyoming      

https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusvtst_T13_351.htm#s352
https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stusvast3_1_796_66_89.htm#s6500
https://www.animallaw.info/statutes/stuswvst61_8_19.htm#s19
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